Missouri Law Firm Defends Clients Who Face DWI or DUI Charges
Dedicated Rolla attorneys help when you are arrested on impaired driving charges
A DWI or DUI charge can have serious implications. The loss or suspension of your license, hefty fines, incarceration, and other penalties may be in store if you are found guilty. When your ability to drive and other liberties are in jeopardy, you have a right to defend yourself. With decades of experience in Rolla and surrounding counties, the law office of Williams, Robinson, Rigler & Buschjost, P.C. provides strong legal support for clients who face DWI or DUI charges.
Responsive legal advocacy to fight drunk driving charges
In Missouri, driving while intoxicated (DWI) and driving under the influence (DUI) are interchangeable terms for driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08 percent.
If you are stopped on suspicion of DWI and arrested, the citation initiates both an administrative action and a criminal action. Our DWI defense attorneys will walk you through the charges against you, and discuss your options and the possible outcomes upon conviction. Here are the penalties you face if convicted of driving while intoxicated:
- First offense — If this is your first DWI arrest, Missouri requires a 30-day suspension of your driving privileges, followed by a 60-day Restricted Driving Privilege period. Depending on your circumstances, you may be able to obtain a 90-day Restricted Driving Privilege if you agree to pay for and install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID). An IID intermittently tests your BAC through a handheld device installed in your car. If the device registers a BAC, the car is immobilized. Because the device maintains a record of your activity, a BAC violation during your Restrictive Driving period can result in an additional suspension or other consequences. In addition to the potential loss of your driving privileges, conviction on a first-time DWI can lead to a period of jail time, a criminal record, and substantial fines and fees.
- Second offense — A second alcohol-related conviction results in larger fines of up to $1,000, a one-year revocation of your driving privileges and incarceration in jail for up to one year, plus mandatory installation of an IID.
- Third offense — Repeat or multiple DWI convictions lead to more severe outcomes. For a third DWI conviction, you may pay a fine of up to $5,000, spend up to seven years in jail, and lose your driving privilege for 10 years.
- Causing a fatal accident — If you are found to have caused a fatal accident while intoxicated, you may be convicted of a felony charge of involuntary manslaughter, which carries a $5,000 fine and up to seven years of incarceration.
Although it might seem easier to plead guilty and move on when you face DWI charges, keep in mind that conviction means you have a criminal record. Long after you have regained your driving privileges, your criminal record may continue to damage your educational, travel, financial, and employment opportunities. Always speak with a criminal defense attorney if you are charged with a DWI in Missouri. A good lawyer may uncover evidence about the traffic stop or car crash that led to your arrest. Mistakes made by law enforcement in collecting evidence may shed new light on the charges against you or even result in a reduction or dismissal of charges.
Strategic DWI representation in south-central Missouri
Conviction on any DWI charge is serious and potentially life-altering. Our DWI defense lawyers have worked for the government and are now in private practice. We know how to interpret the evidence against you and understand the possible solutions, such as suspension of your sentence, a plea deal, or another agreement that may leave you without a permanent criminal record.
Consult a highly qualified criminal defense law firm in Rolla
The criminal defense team at Williams, Robinson, Rigler & Buschjost, P.C. offers strong, resourceful representation to clients throughout Phelps, Pulaski, Dent, Texas, Crawford and Maries counties. Call 573-458-5200 or contact us online to schedule an appointment at our Rolla office.